FIBA: Team Bahamas down to eight players


Tribune Sports Reporter

TEAM Bahamas will have to contend with a shortened rotation next week in the latest window of the FIBA Americup 2022 Qualifiers.

The Bahamas Basketball Federation’s Baha Mar senior men’s national team will have just eight players available on their roster when they face the US (November 29) and Puerto Rico (November 30) at the Indiana Convention Center in Indianapolis, Indiana.

David Nesbitt (Mina Belo Horizonte - Brazil), Willis Mackey (JSA Bordeaux - France), Tavario Miller (Boca Juniors - Argentina), and Kentwan Smith (Garonne ASPTT - France) were unavailable for a myriad of reasons ranging from COVID-19 travel restrictions in their respective countries, unable to clear COVID-19 protocol or not acquiring a release from their club team.

Team Bahamas is now limited to Mychel Thompson (Big 3), D’Shon Taylor (NPBA), Jaron Cornish (Zornotza Saskibaloi Taldea - Spain), Nashad Mackey (Embry Riddle University), Eugene Bain (NPBA), Robert Nortmann (Romerstrom Gladiators Trier - Germany), Godfrey Rolle III (Southwest Baptist University) and Ahmad Pratt (Southwestern College).

Chris Demarco of the Golden State Warriors will serve as head coach assisted by Moses Johnson and Perry Thompson. The team conducted its first practice yesterday in Indianapolis ahead of its matchup with the United States.

Games will be streamed on ESPN+, but no fans or outsiders will be allowed inside the bubble for the games.

The BBF faced several challenges in the selection process and team preparation with funding, COVID-19 restrictions and limited access to local facilities.